How I purchased my train tickets with Swiss half-fare travel card

When I was planning my Switzerland trip, one of the things I did was to evaluate the various travel passes. Visitors to Switzerland will do well to evaluate the various travel passes to decide on the one most suitable for them as train tickets are quite expensive. Eventually I chose the Swiss half-fare travel card. I read on the internet that seat reservation is not necessary on most Swiss trains. But to play safe, I made a list of the train stations I would need to go, and also added information such as price. The column on price was for me to know how much to prepare for the trip. Then when I was in Switzerland, I only needed to show the half-fare travel card and to point the row to the ticketing personnel when purchasing the train tickets. This also avoided the problem of pronouncing the places wrongly. I later found out that the ticketing personnel would also need to know how many tickets, one way or round trip, and class 1 or class 2.

 

So if you are going to buy train tickets in Switzerland, maybe you would like to record the following information to pass to the ticketing personnel. Please remember to show the travel pass, if any, else the default would be full fare.

 

date start point destination full fare half fare
1 dec 2016 Geneva Zurich 89 44.50

 

You can obtain the above information from the sbb website.

 

 

#switzerland

 

 

Related:

 

One thought on “How I purchased my train tickets with Swiss half-fare travel card

I would like to hear from you :D

