I know who holds tomorrow

Last Sunday during the worship service in church, some members of the choir presented the hymn, I know who holds tomorrow. It was wonderful singing, but what caught my attention was the lyrics, particularly the chorus, as they flashed on the projector. I have to admit I am facing some uncertainty in my work and I have been very worried with a lot of “what if” going on in my mind. But seeing the lyrics, it reminds me to continue to place my faith in God and God is in control. The chorus, in particular, is echoing what I am thinking – I do not know what is going to happen tomorrow or in the future, for better or for worse – and tells me that God will watch over me and take care of me.

I managed to find the lyrics from the internet for sharing. Interested readers can also search for the hymn on youtube. I hope it would be an encouragement if the reader is going through a rough patch or uncertainty.

Composer: Ira Forest Stanphill (February 14, 1914 – December 30, 1993)

I don’t know about tomorrow
I just live from day to day
I don’t borrow from its sunshine
For its skies may turn to gray
I don’t worry over the future
For I know what Jesus said
And today I’ll walk beside Him
For He knows what is ahead

Chorus
Many things about tomorrow
I don’t seem to understand
But I know who holds tomorrow
And I know who holds my hand

I don’t know about tomorrow
It may bring me poverty
But the one who feeds the sparrow
Is the one who stands by me
And the path that be my portion
May be through the flame or flood
But His presence goes before me
And I’m covered with His blood
Repeat Chorus

 

 

Related:

One thought on “I know who holds tomorrow

I would like to hear from you :D

