Christchurch Cathedral Square

I visited Christchurch many years ago with some friends. It was the last city in our New Zealand trip. We went to the Cathedral Square. I remember reading in the travel guides about buskers performing there on certain days, but we were probably there at the wrong time as I do not recall seeing any busker. The most prominent building at the Cathedral Square was the beautiful church, and near the church was a big cross with angels (I later found out it was the Citizens’ War Memorial). We did not enter the church but I took a picture of the memorial.

I am sad to learn that the earthquake in 2011 had damaged the beautiful church and the tower was demolished in 2012. The church, together with the Citizens’ War Memorial, is now fenced off and out of bounds.

#newzealand #christchurch #cathedralsquare

I would like to hear from you :D

