The dishonest barber

I used to have my haircut together with a friend since we stayed in the same neighborhood. We would visit the barber near our place. At that time the rate was $4 for students and $5 for adults.

 

On a particular day, after our haircut, my friend passed the barber a $10 note. We were expecting our $2 change but the barber went about clearing his equipment instead of giving us the change. My friend and I looked at each other. We were thinking if there was a fee hike. But the display board still stated $4 for students. When we asked the barber for our change, he replied he had no change for us and thus charged us $5 each. He added that if we had the exact amount, he would charge us $8. That must be the most absurd answer to hear. I stayed in the shop, while my friend took back the $10 and went to the nearby shops to change the $10 note for smaller notes. He came back a few minutes later.

 

Needless to say, that was the last time we stepped inside. We walked further to patronize another barber from then on.

I would like to hear from you :D

