Honour your parents

“If there is anyone who curses his father or his mother, he shall surely be put to death; he has cursed his father or his mother, his bloodguiltiness is upon him.” [Leviticus 20:9]

 

I believe the above verse is very clear and need no further elaboration. Some people might argue that we are of the new covenant and not under the OT Law. I do not dispute that but do not forget the above commandment shows the standard of God and His expectation of how children should behave towards their parents. I believe that expectation still holds.

 

The good news is, beside the stick shown in the verse above, there is a carrot as shown below.

 

“Children, obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right. HONOR YOUR FATHER AND MOTHER (which is the first commandment with a promise), SO THAT IT MAY BE WELL WITH YOU, AND THAT YOU MAY LIVE LONG ON THE EARTH.” [Ephesians 6:1-3]

One thought on “Honour your parents

  1. Thanks Z, for sharing these scriptures. I recently talked with a counselor / friend who really didn’t think it was that bad when kids say they hate or want to kill their parents. I just can’t agree with her, though I love her. I’m sure she sees a lot that I don’t. I just think there is something destructive when we beginning saying these things. God bless you!

    Like

I would like to hear from you :D

