Blackout 2004

I remember I was watching some evening TV show with my family when it happened. The whole house turned dark instantly. Initially we thought it was a power trip. But it was not. The lights along the corridor went dead too. When I looked out of the window, the other blocks were affected too. Even the lampposts at the car parks and roads went dead. It seemed like the whole neighborhood was in darkness. Minutes later, we heard the siren from the ambulance. My guess was someone was trapped in the lift.

 

Without electricity, there was really nothing much we could do, except to wait (the joke was to expect a surge in newborns 10 months later). There were cheers from the neighbors when electricity was restored a few hours later. According to the news reports, the blackout affected a major part of the city. It made me realized the reliance on electricity.

2 thoughts on “Blackout 2004

I would like to hear from you :D

