Book review: Truth endures

Title: Truth endures

Publisher: Grace to You

Editors: Phillip R Johnson and Mike Taylor

This book is essentially a compilation of some sermons preached by John MacArthur. It has 2 main sections. The first section is a brief biography on John MacArthur: his family background, his growing-up years, how he decided to be a pastor, and some challenges he faced initially. The second section is a collection of some sermons by him, dated as early as 1969. It is interesting to note that though some messages were preached many years ago, they are still relevant to us today.

Among the 12 sermons in this book, the one that left the deepest impression on me is the sermon dated 16 September 2001, the Sunday following that horrifying attack. In that sermon, John MacArthur gave an overview on Islam: its origin, some of its teachings, its rise to be the dominant religion in the Middle East, and its conflict with Christianity and Israel. He also explained how some people found justification, or rather misinterpretation, in Islam for violent attacks and martyrdom, leading to the attack on September 2001. Referring to the book of Ezekiel, he showed how the conflict would eventually end. He ended that sermon by urging the congregation to share the gospel with Muslims. I would like to state that I do not agree with some comments John MacArthur made on Islam.

Having read some of his books, I have always wondered about his sermons. That is why when I chanced upon this book on my friend’s bookshelf, I could not help picking it up. If there is another volume, I would want to read it too.


PS: I borrowed this book from a friend. I have not received any form of compensation for writing this post. I have no material connection to the publisher or author mentioned in the post.

I would like to hear from you :D

