The LORD is not limited by human limits

When the Israelites complained that they wanted meat, Moses raised their request to the LORD. The request was granted. What I have written here is only part of the story; the full story is recorded in Numbers chapter 11. There is more to this story but what caught my attention in this story are these verses:

 

But Moses said, “Here I am among six hundred thousand men on foot, and you say, ‘I will give them meat to eat for a whole month!’ Would they have enough if flocks and herds were slaughtered for them? Would they have enough if all the fish in the sea were caught for them?” The LORD answered Moses, “Is the LORD’s arm too short? You will now see whether or not what I say will come true for you.” [Numbers 11: 21 – 23]

 

Matthew Henry wrote in his commentary that Moses “reckons it must be the flesh of either beasts of fishes, because they are the most bulky animals, little thinking that the flesh of birds, little birds, should serve the purpose.” He also wrote that the reply from the LORD was a reminder to Moses of the wonders he had seen eg the plagues of Egypt.

 

I see myself in Moses’ response. Many times I suppose my prayer requests would happen in a certain manner because that is what my mind can conceive. Like Moses, sometimes I forget the wonderful things the LORD has done. This passage reminds me that the LORD is not limited by human limits. His power is unlimited.

6 thoughts on “The LORD is not limited by human limits

  1. Sometimes I can’t fight human intuition over faith. There is this thing that cripples me. The doubts when the sail gets shaky. I pray for heavenly wisdom for all of us.

    Thank you for dropping by on my blog zzzisle. Have a great day. 🙂

    Like

  2. When we consider God, a being that is almighty who created everything that existed we don’t usually think that there are things God cannot do. There are many things man can’t do, but there are also things God cannot do. That’s right God can’t do all things. It is not because He is unable to, that He is limited in power in any way. It is because of who He is in nature. There are guidelines that even God cannot step over. E.g. He is not free to act contrary to his nature that is permanent, that does not change. Does this mean he is not all-powerful? No- it means that as a perfect and unchangeable being His commands and actions are rooted in the ultimate good, which flow from his nature. God’s moral character does not change. “I the Lord change not “(Mal.3:6). “There is no shadow of change with God” (Jm.1:17).

    Like

I would like to hear from you :D

