Book review: Growing your faith (by Jerry Bridges)

Title: Growing your faith

Author: Jerry Bridges

Publisher: NavPress

How do we grow spiritually?” that is the question this book seeks to address. With the aim of providing basic instructions on spiritual growth, this book is divided into 3 sections:

  1.  “The necessity of spiritual growth”, where the author talked about why Christians need to grow spiritually and the foundation needed for spiritual growth;
  2. “The means of spiritual growth”, where the author explained the means needed (eg grace, Holy Spirit, bible, discipline and so on ) and how these aid in spiritual growth;
  3. “The marks of spiritual growth”, where the author showed 5 fundamental characteristics of a growing Christian.

Throughout the book, Jerry Bridges quoted and explained many verses from the bible related to spiritual growth. I find the chapter on “spiritual fellowship” insightful because Jerry Bridges showed how important and vital fellowship is, and gave an overview of the fellowship mentioned in the bible – the kind of fellowship we should pursue. While he did not go into details on small groups, he cautioned about the small group going in the wrong direction.

Jerry Bridges had touched on the subject of spiritual growth in many of his earlier works. This book is sort of a consolidation of those materials, together with new material, making it more accessible to Christians who want to learn more about the subject. Though the title seems to suggest this book is meant for those new in the faith, it is also relevant for mature Christians to review their growth.


PS: I borrowed this book from the church library. I have not received any form of compensation for writing this post. I have no material connection to the publisher or author mentioned in the post.

4 thoughts on “Book review: Growing your faith (by Jerry Bridges)

  1. Hi zzzisle, a great review, you have given a comprehensive but compacted view of a great message.. Spiritual growth is so very important, no doubt you have wetted peoples appetite thank you.

    I know with any type of growth you need to start with the basics and God showed me this after I got very confused with all the differant teaching, it’s a long story but I will leave a link it’s message was the start of my real growth, although I had been on the journey a long time it impacted me greatly and from there I grew in understanding and insight and as I’m still learning I will continue to do so.

    Blog Post – http://alifeofhopeandjoy.wordpress.com/category/woman-of-kingdom-wisdom/

    Thank you again I look forward to reading more of your Blog.

    Christian Love Anne

    Like

I would like to hear from you :D

