ROPD

ROPD stands for right of private defence. It is used to justify acts of self-defence. I learnt this term a few years ago, and I have actually forgotten about it until recently. I was watching ch8, and there was this scene of a man strangling a woman, then the woman picked up a sharp object and killed the man. I thought that was a valid case for ropd. I am not a lawyer and thus unable to discuss at length on this topic. I remember the instructor told us that to prevent misuse of ropd, the law requires a set of criteria to be fulfilled, and life at stake is definitely one of them. He also cited a case where a man, nicknamed one eye dragon, killed another man with a gun and tried to use ropd to get away with the murder charge. His case was rejected.

I would like to hear from you :D

